Published On: , by MacSoftAdmin
Using our phones can be fun and a headache at the same time. There are times when a particular app is required and the phone sends you an error message to free up some room by erasing apps as there is no more available space.
Well, stop to worry as iOS 11 came up with a cool item that can naturally erase apps when space is full. The other good thing is just the app is erased. All the information concerning app is secured. Perhaps you might want to reinstall the app in the future, then all your data is right there on your device waiting for you. Offloading is the term used to describe the process of naturally erasing apps when there is no more available room. I think you will agree with me that it’s better to offload any app you do not need manually as you are the one using the device and you know what apps are more useful to you. Below I will share with you how you can do this in a very convenient way.
Before we dig deeper into how to manually remove apps you need to know a few things. On your appliance, is it the iPad or iPhone, there is the auto-offloading option that is available for you but it can only start working when you click on the box to mark it active. This you can do by simply visiting your settings.
Settings> General>iPad Storage or Settings> General>iPhone Storage
Doesn’t matter what type of device you have in both settings are the same as listed above. Just follow the process and you will get to the page where you need to activate this feature. Note that after enabling your auto-offloading mode, this setting will vanish but you can still find it in Settings>iTunes & App Store.
In the same setting menu only in the bottom of the page, you can find the list of all apps on your appliance. You might want to check to know how much space each app occupies. This can be done by clicking on the app and you will be directed to a detailed page with all information. There may even be advanced options for you just in case you need to make any further modifications. Apps owned by Apple will not be erased totally. If you want a better result, all you can do is to use the advanced option or Extra option. For instance, the Music app shows you all the songs you have saved up locally on your device so it’s quite easy to dig in and see what songs you no longer find interesting and delete.
In my opinion, offloading is the best option when dealing with apps with large storage requirements. For example, I have the GarageBand on my iPad, it’s occupying 2.26GB. The app itself takes 1.44GB and 825MB is for my data (songs). I can save 1.44GB by offloading the app itself. My data remains safe and unbothered. Should I choose to reinstall GarageBand sometime later in the future; I can successfully retrieve my data and settings.
Well, the thought of losing your data will certainly cross your mind. Most especially if you do not have a backup. But it’s great as it takes away the negative aspect of erasing an app. Also, you have to remember what apps you deleted as there is no list of offloaded apps. Nonetheless, the offloaded apps still remain the list of apps, so anytime you want to reinstall them they are right there for you. I can say as a space securing feature it’s a great app to have running. A good app for the future as it makes finding deleted apps much easier.
While surfing around in your Settings>General>iPad Storage, take a good look around. You’ll see some quite fantastic features you can use for creating additional space. For instance, Safari has a setting that allows you to delete your Reading List to secure more space.
Offloading, in my opinion, is a fantastic way of saving up some space. With the manual option, it gives us the flexibility of dumping an app whenever there’s no need in it and return back to it when we want all our data safe at any point when we chose to come back to it. Doesn’t make any sense running out of space when there are apps you barely use and they take up a chunk of your storage space.